Personal tools
Home About Welcome Administration


Introduction to the Department Chairman and Vice-Chairs

Frank Chang.jpgM. C. Frank Chang, Department Chairman

Dr. Frank Chang is the Wintek Endowed Chair and Distinguished Professor of Electrical Engineering and the Chairman of the Electrical Engineering Department, UCLA.

Before joining UCLA, he was the Assistant Director and Department Manager of the High Speed Electronics Laboratory at Rockwell Science Center (1983-1997), Thousand Oaks, California. In this tenure, he developed and transferred the AlGaAs/GaAs Heterojunction Bipolar Transistor (HBT) and BiFET (Planar HBT/MESFET) integrated circuit technologies from the research laboratory to the production line (now Conexant Systems and Skyworks). The HBT/BiFET productions have grown into multi-billion dollar businesses and dominated the cell phone power amplifiers and front-end module markets (currently exceeding one billion units/year). Throughout his career, his research has primarily focused on the development of high-speed semiconductor devices and integrated circuits for RF and mixed-signal communication and imaging system applications. He was the principal investigator at Rockwell in leading DARPA’s ultra-high speed ADC/DAC development for direct conversion transceiver (DCT) and digital radar receivers (DRR) systems. He was the inventor of the multiband, reconfigurable RF-Interconnects, based on FDMA and CDMA multiple access algorithms, for ChipMulti-Processor (CMP) inter-core communications and inter-chip CPU-to-Memory communications. He also pioneered the development of world’s first multi-gigabit/sec ADC, DAC and DDS in both GaAs HBT and Si CMOS technologies; the first 60GHz radio transceiver front-end based on transformer-folded-cascode (Origami) high-linearity circuit topology; and the low phase noise CMOS VCO (F.O.M.<-200dBc/Hz) with Digitally Controlled on-chip Artificial Dielectric (DiCAD). He was also the first to demonstrate CMOS oscillators in the Terahertz frequency spectrum (1.3THz) and the first to demonstrate a CMOS active imager at the sub-mm-Wave spectra (180GHz) based on a Time-Encoded Digital Regenerative Receiver. He was also the founder of an RF design company G-Plus (now SST and Microchip) to commercialize WiFi 11b/g/a/n power amplifiers, front-end modules and CMOS transceivers.

He was elected to the US National Academy of Engineering in 2008 for the development and commercialization of GaAs power amplifiers and integrated circuits. He was also elected as a Fellow of IEEE in 1996 and received IEEE David Sarnoff Award in 2006 for developing and commercializing HBT power amplifiers for modern wireless communication systems. He was the recipient of 2008 Pan Wen Yuan Foundation Award and 2009 CESASC Career Achievement Award for his fundamental contributions in developing AlGaAs/GaAs hetero-junction bipolar transistors. His recent paper “A Blocker-Tolerant Wideband Noise Cancelling Receiver with 2dB Noise Figure” was selected for the Distinguished Technical Paper Award in 2012 IEEE International Solid State Circuits Conference (ISSCC).  He received Rockwell’s Leonardo Da Vinci Award (Engineer of the Year) in 1992; National Chiao Tung University’s Distinguished Alumnus Award in 1997; and National Tsing Hua University’s Distinguished Engineering Alumnus Award in 2002.


 Jason C.S. WooJason C.S. Woo, Vice-Chair of Industry Relations

Jason C.S. Woo received the B.A.Sc. (Hons.) degree in engineering science from the University of Toronto, Canada, in 1981, and the M.S. and Ph.D. degrees in electrical engineering from Stanford University in 1982 and 1987, respectively. He joined the UCLA Electrical Engineering Department in 1987 and is currently a professor.

Prof. Woo served on the IEEE IEDM program committee from 1989-1990 and 1994-1996, and was the publicity vice-chairman in 1992 and the publicity chairman in 1993. He is the workshop chairman and has been a technical committee member of the VLSI Technology Symposium since 1992. Since 1993, he has been on the IEEE SOI conference committee and was the technical program chairman for the conference in 1999. He has also been appointed recently to serve as the chair of IEEE Electronic Device Society ad hoc committee on short courses. He has authored or coauthored over 100 papers in technical journals and refereed conference proceedings in these areas.


Paulo Tabuada 2.jpg Paulo Tabuada, Vice-Chair of Graduate Affairs

Paulo Tabuada received his "Licenciatura" degree in Aerospace Engineering and his Ph.D. in Electrical and Computer Engineering from Instituto Superior Tecnico, Lisbon, Portugal.  After spending some time as postdoctoral researcher at the University of Pennsylvania and as assistant professor at the University of Notre Dame he joined UCLA in 2006.

Professor Tabuada heads the Cyber-Physical Systems Laboratory which conducts research on the modeling, analysis and control of real-time, embedded, networked, and distributed systems.  The research conducted at the Cyber-Physical Systems Laboratory has been recognized by several awards including the Donald P. Eckman award from the AACC and the George S. Axelby award from the IEEE CSS.  Professor Tabuada's other research interests include geometrical nonlinear control and mathematical systems theory.


Stafsudd.Oscar Oscar Stafsudd, Vice-Chair of Undergraduate Affairs

Professor Oscar Stafsudd is the Vice Chair of Undergraduate Affairs in the Electrical Engineering Department, UCLA. A winner of the Lockheed-Martin Teacher of the Year Award and former Fulbright Scholar, the professor has published more than 300 papers in conferences and learned and scholarly journals.  He has 11 patents in the fields of lasers, materials and optics.

Professor Stafsudd earned his Ph.D. in Physics (spectroscopy/solid state) at UCLA. After working in the aerospace industry for a number of years, he joined the Electrical Engineering Department at UCLA. His research interests have been extensive in covering the fields of infrared detectors (semiconductor and pyroelectric), crystal growth, solar cells, and non-linear optics. He has also been involved in the research and development of novel ferroelectric materials, particularly those applicable to the construction of pyroelectric detector devices.

The professor’s current research interests have expanded to include: solid state lasers and laser media, and medical fluorescent lifetime and Raman imaging.  His medical research seeks to allow the realtime direct observation of cancerous versus normal tissue.  The Raman research attempts to detect bone fragments in wounds, typically caused by IEDs.

The professor chairs the campus-wide Laser Safety Committee which serves to design the courses required of students and staff that work with lasers and oversees the Health, Safety and Environmental Services group in monitoring and setting policy for the proper handling of lasers across campus.

Document Actions