Personal tools
Home People Faculty Faculty Directory Joshi, Chandrashekhar

Joshi, Chandrashekhar

Chandrashekar JoshiChandrashekhar Joshi, Distinguished Professor

National Academy of Engineering, 2014
James Clerk Maxwell Prize, APS, 2006
Fellow, IEEE, 1993
Fellow, Institute of Physics (U.K.), 1998
Fellow, American Physical Society, 1990

Research Group: Laser-Plasma Group

Office: 66-147B Engr. IV, Phone: 310.825.7279, Email



Dr. Chan Joshi is currently a Distinguished Professor of Electrical Engineering and the Director of the Neptune Facility for Advanced Accelerator Research at UCLA. His research is in the fields of plasma physics, lasers and electromagnetics. In particular Professor Joshi has interests in the areas of laser fusion, laser acceleration of particles, nonlinear optics of plasmas, high-power lasers and particle beams, and basic plasma phenomena. Prof. Joshi has made many fundamental contributions to our understanding of extremely nonlinear optical effects in plasmas. Most notable are his first experimental demonstrations of four-wave mixing, stimulated Raman forward instability, resonant self-focusing, frequency up shifting by ionization fronts and nonlinear coupling between electron-plasma waves.

Professor Joshi's group is best known for their work in the field of ultra-high gradient acceleration of charged particles using space charge density waves in plasmas using a laser or a particle beam pulse. Work started by Professor Joshi at UCLA has now spread worldwide.

Professor Joshi was awarded the APS-Maxwell Prize (2006), the Advanced Accelerator Concepts Prize (2008), IEEE-Particle Accelerator Science and Technology Award (2009), APS- Excellence in Plasma Physics Award (1996) and USPAS prize for Achievement in Accelerator Physics and Technology (1997). He was the APS Centennial Speaker (1999) and a Distinguished Lecturer in Plasma Physics (2001). He is a Fellow of the APS, IEEE and IoP.

Research Interests

Professor Joshi's research focuses on laser fusion, laser acceleration of particles, nonlinear optics, high-power lasers, and plasma physics.

Awards and Recognitions

  • 2014 National Academy of Engineering
  • 2014 Engineer's Council, Distinguished Engineering Educator Award
  • 2010-Present Visiting Professor, Imperial College, London University
  • 2009 IEEE Particle Accelerator Science and Technology Award
  • 2008 Advanced Accelerator Concepts Award
  • 2006 American Physical Society, James Clerk Maxwell Prize
  • 2001-2002 American Physical Society, Distinguished Lecturer in Plasma Physics
  • 1999 American Physical Society Centennial Speaker
  • 1998 Fellow of Institute of Physics, UK
  • 1997 American Physical Society Prize for Achievement in Accelerator Physics Technology
  • 1996 American Physical Society, Excellence in Plasma Physics Research Award
  • 1993 Fellow of the IEEE
  • 1990 Fellow of the American Physical Society
  • 1974 Institute of Nuclear Engineers, UK, Queen Mary College Prize
Document Actions