Mona Jarrahi

Mona Jarrahi

Mona Jarrahi
Professor and Vice-Chair, Graduate Affairs
Primary Area: Physical and Wave Electronics

Office: 66-147E Engr. IV
Phone: (310) 206-1371
Research Lab: Terahertz Electronics Laboratory

Research and Teaching Interests:

Terahertz/millimeter-wave electronics and optoelectronics, microwave photonics, imaging and spectroscopy systems

Awards and Recognitions
2019Burroughs Wellcome Fund’s Innovations in Regulatory Science Award
2019Fellow of Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE)
2018Fellow of the International Society for Optical Engineering (SPIE)
2018UCLA Biomedical Innovation Award
2018Sharif University of Technology Alumni Achievement Award
2017Fellow of the Optical Society of America (OSA)
2017Okawa Foundation Award
2017Watanabe Excellence in Research Award from UCLA School of Engineering and Applied Science
2016Moore Inventor Fellowship
2016Popular Mechanics Breakthrough Award
2016Sharif University of Technology Distinguished Alumni Award
2015Alexander von Humboldt Foundation Friedrich Wilhelm Bessel Research Award
2015IEEE Antennas and Propagation Society (AP-S) Lot Shafai Mid-Career Distinguished Achievement Award for “pioneering contributions to plasmonic antennas and optical phased arrays for terahertz and microwave systems”
2015International Conference on Infrared, Millimeter, and Terahertz Waves Best Student Paper Award (3rd place)
“High Power Pulsed Terahertz Radiation From Large Area Photoconductive Emitters”
2015IEEE Microwave Theory and Techniques Society Distinguished Lecturer
2014Kavli Fellow by the National Academy of Sciences
2014United States National Committee of the International Union of Radio Science (USNC/URSI) Booker Fellowship for “achievements in the area of Terahertz Optoelectronics and Microwave Photonics”.
2014IEEE Nanotechnology Council Early Career Award in Nanotechnology for “contributions to the development of nano-plasmonic and nano-photonic devices and quantum well structures for advancement of terahertz technology”.
2014IEEE Microwave Theory and Techniques Society Outstanding Young Engineering Award for “outstanding early career contributions to the microwave profession”.
2014Optical Society of America (OSA) Senior Membership
2013International Society of Optical Engineers (SPIE) Senior Membership
2013International Microwave Symposium Best Student Paper Award (3rd place)
Plasmonic photoconductive antennas for significant terahertz radiation enhancement
2013International Symposium on Antennas and Propagation Best Student Paper Award (2nd place)
Nanoscale contact electrodes for significant radiation power enhancement in photoconductive terahertz emitters
2013Presidential Early Career Award for Scientists and Engineers (PECASE)
2013National Academy of Engineering (NAE), The Grainger Foundation Frontiers of Engineering Award
2012Army Research Office (ARO) Young Investigator Award
2012Office of Naval Research (ONR) Young Investigator Award
2012National Academy of Engineering (NAE) Frontiers of Engineering
2012Elizabeth Crosby Research Award from the University of Michigan
2012Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE) Senior Membership
2011National Science Foundation (NSF) Faculty Early Career Development Award
2010Defense Advanced Research Projects Agency (DARPA) Young Faculty Award
2008International Microwave Symposium Best Student Paper Award (3rd place)
High-power tunable terahertz generation based on photoconductive antenna arrays
2007International Microwave Symposium Best Student Paper Award (1st place)
Traveling Wave Spatial Quantized Analog-to-digital Conversion
2005Photonic Technology Access Program Research Award
Selected Publications