2014 – 2015 MediaTek Fellowship Recipients

Graduate Students Hsinhung Alvin Chen and Zuow-Zun Joseph Chen are Inaugural MediaTek Fellows

Hsinhung_Chen_and_Zuow_Zun_Chen>On September 23, 2014 MediaTek and UCLA electrical engineering department announced the inaugural MediaTek fellows Hsinhung Alvin Chen and Zuow-Zun Joseph Chen at a kick-off meeting graced by Dr. Lawrence Loh, MediaTek USA President and corporate Senior Vice President, and Dean Vijay Dhir, UCLA Henry Samueli School of Engineering and Applied Science.
Hsinhung Alvin Chen, a graduate student of Professor Asad Abidi, will pursue a research on “Adaptive Calibration of Time-Interleaved Analog-To-Digital Converter.” While Zuow-Zun (Joseph) Chen, a graduate student of Professor and Chair Frank Chang, has selected to investigate on “A Low-Noise Sub-Sampling Fractional-N ADPLL.”

A graduate student who has passed the preliminary exam qualifies to apply to the fellowship. The MediaTek Fellowship provides full graduate student researcher (GSR) support including non-resident tuition (NRT) for one academic year and a possible paid summer internship. Continued support may be considered in subsequent years for fellows who are deemed to make good progress.

From a substantial number of applications, each distinctly innovative, only the top two proposals of excellent technical merit and with a strong likelihood of success were jointly selected by UCLA and MediaTek. The UCLA MediaTek Standing Committee is chaired by Professor Ken Yang with committee members Professors Jason Woo and Frank Chang.
MediaTek, founded in 1997, is a pioneering fabless semiconductor company and a market leader in cutting-edge systems on a chip for wireless communications and multi-media. They created the world’s first octa-core smartphone platform with LTE and the CorePilot technology released the full power of multi-core mobile processors. In 2013, they were the fourth largest integrated circuits designer worldwide. Headquartered in Hsinchu, Taiwan, MediaTek recently opened an office in San Diego, California.