Distinguished Prof. Yahya Rahmat-Samii received the 2022 IEEE AP-S Harrington-Mittra Award in Computational EM

Distinguished Professor Yahya Rahmat-Samii received the prestigious IEEE Antennas and Propagation Society (AP-S) Harrington-Mittra Award in Computational Electromagnetics. As stated by 2022 IEEE Antenna and propagation Society President, Prof. G. Lazzi, shown in the photo on the right, “As the 2022 IEEE AP-S President, it is my distinct pleasure and honor to inform you that the IEEE Antennas and Propagation Society has decided to recognize your fundamental contributions with the Harrington-Mittra Award in Computational Electromagnetics.”

The Harrington-Mittra Award in Computational Electromagnetics is given annually to recognize outstanding achievement in Computational Electromagnetics. The criteria considered by the AP-S Awards Committee include: (a) Fundamental contributions to theory and applications of integral equations, differential equations and asymptotic methods in electromagnetics (b) Innovative numerical methods for Antennas and EM Scattering problems and (c) Innovative numerical methods for analysis of propagation of EM waves.

Professor Rahmat-Samii was honored for his pioneering contributions in the areas of advanced computational techniques in applied electromagnetics and antennas. The award plaque, shown in the photo, reads, “For fundamental contributions to the spectral theory of diffraction; hybrid method of moments and physical optics; and nature-inspired optimization techniques in diverse electromagnetics engineering applications.”. His original computational and optimization concepts and techniques, appearing in many of his papers and several of his books, have been used in the design of many spacecraft antennas for planetary, remote sensing, radio astronomy and Cubesat missions, radar cross section characterizations including stealth and antenna design applications. Professor Rahmat-Samii received his award in Denver, at the 2022 IEEE International Symposium on Antennas and Propagation and USNC-URSI Radio Science Meeting Award Ceremony on Wednesday July 13, 2022. Both IEEE President and IEEE Antennas and Propagation President were in attendance. The IEEE Antennas and Propagation Society has four major field awards, namely, Distinguished Achievement Award, Chen-To Tai Distinguished Educator Award, John Kraus Antenna Award and Harrington-Mittra Award in Computational Electromagnetics and Prof. Rahmat-Samii is the only member of this society who has won all of them. He was also the recipient of the IEEE Electromagnetics Field Award in 2011.