Deniz Turan from Prof. Jarrahi’s group was selected to receive a Doctoral Research Award from the IEEE Antennas and Propagation Society for his research project, Bias-Free Telecommunication-Compatible Photoconductive Terahertz Emitters with Plasmonic Nano-Antenna Arrays. The IEEE Antennas and Propagation Society (AP-S) grants up to ten Ph.D. Research Awards each year.  The selection committee evaluates each applicant based on his or her research project, academic record, and potential to contribute to the electromagnetics profession in the future.  The award consists of a $2500 fellowship.