Aydogan Ozcan

Aydogan Ozcan

Aydogan Ozcan
Chancellor’s Professor and HHMI Professor
Primary Area: Physical and Wave Electronics

Office: 68-119 Engr. IV
Phone: (310) 825-0915
E-mail: ozcan@ee.ucla.edu
Research Lab: Bio- and Nano-Photonics Laboratory

Research and Teaching Interests:

Computational Imaging, Deep Learning Optics, Microscopy, Holography, Sensing, Biophotonics

Awards and Recognitions
2019 Fellow, The American Physical Society
2018 Fellow, National Academy of Inventors
2018 Fellow, AAAS
2018 The Stillman Lecture, University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign
2018 TASSA President’s Service Award, TASSA
2017 Biocom Life Science Catalyst Award
2017 Guggenheim Fellow, The John Simon Guggenheim Memorial Foundation
2017 Fellow, The Royal Society of Chemistry (RSC)
2017 Fellow, American Institute for Medical and Biological Engineering (AIMBE)
2017 Fellow, IEEE – Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers
2016 Rahmi M. Koç Science Medal, Koç University & Vehbi Koç Foundation {Inaugural Recipient}
2016 U.S. National Academy of Engineering (NAE), EU-US Frontiers of Engineering Symposium – Committee Member, Session Chair
2016 Mary Kay Foundation, Cancer Research Award
2016 Ernst Abbe Lecture and Award, Carl Zeiss Foundation
2016 Vodafone Americas Foundation, Wireless Innovation Award
2016 IEEE Photonics Society Distinguished Lecturer Award
2016 U.S. National Academy of Sciences, Arab-American Frontiers of Science Fellowship
2015 ICO Prize, International Commission for Optics
2015 The World Economic Forum, Technology Pioneers List
2015 Postdoctoral Scholars Mentoring Award, UCLA
2015 The White House Office of Science and Technology Policy, Microbiome Workshop, Invited Participant/Panelist
2015 Microscopy Today, Innovation Award
2015 The Kavli Foundation, Kavli Futures Symposium on Microbiome, Invited Participant/Panelist
2014 HHMI Professor, Howard Hughes Medical Institute
2014 The Optical Society (OSA) Fellow
2014 National Academy of Engineering (NAE), Japan-America Frontiers of Engineering Symposium – Invited Participant
2013 Microscopy Today Innovation Award
2013 Selected Among 10 Breakthrough Technologies of The Year JALA Ten (presented by Journal of Laboratory Automation),
2013 UCLA Chancellor.s Professorship
2013 Fellow, SPIE
2013 SPIE Biophotonics Technology Innovator Award .for his seminal contributions to computational imaging, sensing and bio-photonics technologies impacting telemedicine and global health challenges..
2012 IEEE NANOMED Conference, Best Paper Award, 2012
2012 National Academy of Engineering (NAE), The Grainger Foundation Frontiers of Engineering Award
2012 World Technology Award on Health & Medicine, presented by the World Technology Network in association with TIME, CNN, AAAS, Science, Technology Review, Fortune and Kurzweil
2012 Popular Science, Brilliant 10 Award
2011 The Scientist, Top Innovation of the Year
2011 SPIE Early Career Achievement Award in recognition of his pioneering contributions to non-destructive nonlinear material characterization techniques, nearfield and on-chip imaging and diagnostic systems.
2011 Rockefeller Foundation and mHealth Alliance, Innovators Challenge Winner
2011 Regional Health Care Innovation Challenge Award, The von Liebig Center, UCSD
2011 Presidential Early Career Award for Scientists and Engineers (PECASE)
2011 National Academy of Engineering (NAE), U.S. Frontiers of Engineering Symposium – Invited Participant
2011 Innovation Competition Award, World Reconstruction Conference, Geneva
2011 Army Research Office (ARO), Young Investigator Award
2010 Popular Mechanics Breakthrough Award
2010 PopTech Science and Public Leaders Fellowship
2010 NSF CAREER Award
2010 Netexplorateur Award, Netexplorateur Observatory and Forum, France
2010 National Geographic Emerging Explorer Award
2010 LAUNCH Health Innovation Award, presented by NASA, USAID, Department of State, and NIKE
2010 Bill & Melinda Gates Foundation, Grand Challenges Explorations Award
2009 Vodafone Americas Foundation, Wireless Innovation Award
2009 Office of Naval Research (ONR), Young Investigator Award
2009 NIH Director.s New Innovator Award
2009 MIT.s Technology Review Magazine, TR 35 Award
2009 IEEE LEOS Young Investigator Award for his pioneering contributions to non destructive nonlinear material characterization techniques, near-field and on-chip imaging and diagnostic systems.
2008 Outstanding paper award, Annual Meeting of Biomedical Engineering Society (BMES), 2008
2008 Okawa Foundation Award, Japan
2006 Outstanding paper award, Gordon Research Conference, Lasers in Medicine and Biology
Selected Publications