Professor Asad Madni Invited as Distinguished Leader by the Presidents of the NAS, NAE & NAM on Capitol Hill

Distinguished Adjunct Professor Asad M. Madni was one of 20 distinguished leaders invited by National Academy of Sciences (NAS) President Marcia McNutt, National Academy of Engineering (NAE) President C. D. Mote, Jr., and National Academy of Medicine (NAM) President Victor J. Dzau to honor U.S. 2017 Nobel Prize recipients Barry Barish (Physics), Joachim Frank (Chemistry), Michael Rosbash (Physiology and Medicine), Kip Thorne (Physics), and Michael Young (Physiology and Medicine) at a reception on Capitol Hill on Wednesday, April 18, 2018. U.S. Senators Lamar Alexander (R-Tenn.) and Christopher Coons (D-Del.) co-hosted the event. The ceremony recognized the scientists for their significant contributions to their fields as well as to the advancement of human knowledge.

Among the invited distinguished leaders were Adam Riess (2011 Nobel Prize in Physics), Erling Norrby (The Royal Swedish Academy of Science), Norm Augustine (Retired Chairman and CEO of Lockheed Martin) and Ming Hsieh (Philanthropist and CEO of Fulgent Genetics).